Life at the end of the road

March 26, 2009

Minimal effort!

Filed under: daily doings, harbour — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:55 pm

I seem to remember having my tee shirt off this time last week splitting wood and having a barbecue! I also seem to remember saying it could change, well it did and the last few days have been pretty Baltic. A good breeze of west wind which never quite touched the gale force that was predicted drove some nasty showers off the Cullins and over to Raasay. Though as is often the case with this direction of wind there were also one or two sunny spells but with little warmth to them. My present tactic of feeding the two groups of pigs on the hill involves feeding them a little earlier every day so they don’t bump into each other, this is working very well but means that by next Tuesday they’ll be eating around 5:00am at this rate! Anyway it all went without incident and I left home around 6:30 with 8 happy piglets buried in their feed troughs. The early start gave me chance to do a little rabbit hunting on the way down ‘Calum’s road’ but true to form I returned empty handed, wifey says that if we’d to rely on my hunting skills for food we’d starve! which I thought was a little harsh when you consider the tons of scallops I’ve caught over the years, OK you just pick those up off the sea bed but it’s still hunting 🙂 Although I didn’t actually see any rabbits today I did see a golden eagle just before Glam, reminding me yet again how lucky I am to have an 11 mile commute to work that is more like a wild life safari.

Seamus where are you?

The other thing I saw was the fishery cruiser but it was a very long way off and the photo is rubbish, I can’t remember it’s name but I’m sure my ‘Shipping corespondent’ will soon fill us in 🙂 (Many thank’s to David Mackay for informing me it’s the Norna)

fisheries cruiser

fisheries cruiser

And the next few pics are of progress at the harbour

3 section crane platform

3 section crane platform

My suspicions yesterday about the purpose of this huge metal platform were confirmed today

Rock ramp

Rock ramp

As they were busy building a rock ramp for the big Kobelco to track up onto the platform

Crane and platform

Crane and platform

Once the ramp is finished the crane can sit on it to swing the blocks into position to seaward, when sufficient blocks are ahead of the crane it can the pick up the rearmost section of the platform, swing it ahead and track forward! I just can’t wait to see this!

harbour works 26/3/09

harbour works 26/3/09

more harbour works

more harbour works

And the minimal effort in the title was supposed to refer to how much time I was spending on this post but my internet connection appears to be useless between 7:00 and 10:00pm, which is just about as long as it’s taken me to upload those pictures and a bit of text 😦 so it was hardly ‘minimal effort’ anyway now I’m off to bed!

Blog at WordPress.com.