Life at the end of the road

September 10, 2011

Preparing for Katia :-)

Filed under: daily doings — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 7:31 pm

Fresh but exceedingly mild just about sums up today, right from leaving the house at 6:30 I was struck by the balminess of the southerly breeze. For reasons unclear but probably not unrelated to the deluge that pelted the bedroom windows at 4:30 I was up very early. Far earlier than one with a fourteen hour shift ahead of him should be. Still I’ve been in my bed for most nights around 21:00 so I’m hardly short of sleep.

I would have left the house earlier and tried my hand at some rabbits as the rain had stopped and the morning looked promising but I’d arranged to give a couple of people a lift down the road so 6:30 it was.

 100911 001

The three of us enjoying a leisurely drive south admiring the wildlife and ethereal mists of Skye, Eilean a Cheo, the ‘Misty Isle’ as it’s known in the native tongue. One thing about Gaelic, the names are pretty descriptive 🙂

  100911 002

The Old man of Storr and his lieutenants popping in and out of the low cloud half a dozen times as we drove by.

The day at work was pretty quiet, as is usual for a Saturday and once again I spent most of it in the engine room polishing the bilge 🙂

 100911 003

Well apart from my spell at the helm, which made a pleasant change from the heat of down below.

An unwelcome visitor 🙂

The topic on everyone’s lips today has been Katia, or at least the greatly diminished hurricane, tropical storm and now severe gale that is heading this way for Monday.

 image

Just a few more things to do before she arrives, like lash down the roof of my trailer, put rocks on the ‘Wheelie bins’ and load up my chainsaw in the Land Rover. I don’t think it’s going to particularly severe on the wind front but trees heavy in leaf, torrential rain and the big tide that comes with the full moon are bound to make it ‘interesting’. Not only that there’s an awful lot of trees been felled on Raasay since the last gale in May, and one or two places are going to find it considerably draughty 🙂

Of course all this wind and rain means we’ll have plenty of power from the wind and hydro turbines so it looks like lots of home baking and clean sheets on the bed 🙂 Our son is booked into the hostel for a couple of days on the strength of it so at least he’ll not be walking around like a zombie at school. Though having said that we’d probably not be taking him anyway as I’m sick of watching him and my wife suffer.

 100911 004

Anyway, that’s it, the sun’s down, the moon’s up and it’s time to sail to Sconser 🙂

Blog at WordPress.com.