Life at the end of the road

March 9, 2011

Thin on the ground :-)

Filed under: daily doings, hydro, weather, wind turbine — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:23 pm

It’s news that’s thin on the ground, of white stuff there’s plenty, well at least there was this morning at 6:30am when I poked my head out of the door. It came as no surprise because it was forecast, and even before I rose out of my bed to the annoying voice on my mobile phone saying “the time is five forty five, it’s time to get up, the time is five forty five” ad infinitum had I not turned it off.

Why the hell we need these stupid voices and noises on our phones and computers is beyond me, I may be a little dim at times but I don’t need a friggin tacky tune to play everytime I switch my phone or computer on just to tell me. One who knows me may find it hard to believe but sometimes I like things quiet 🙂 A simple beep or two will do for the alarm and forget the ‘welcome to Nokia’ cr4p and a colourful handshake using up processor power and flattening my battery everytime I turn on the phone.

090311 008

Actually, apart from the inane woman on the alarm and the idiotic predictive text function that is the default in SMS I really like this phone. It is an ‘old persons phone’, no silly camera, no internet, no heart monitor, or friggin pedometer like my last phone, I mean what the ‘four letter word’ is all that about, I want a phone to phone people not give me hypochondria. I want a phone with big numbers I can see and a volume I can hear and this marvellous little offering that Santa left me does all I require 🙂

Anyway, sorry for going off on one there, where was I ??? Oh I remember, lying in bed looking at the snow on the Velux windows awaiting Miss Nokia 🙂 Once she’d driven me out of bed and I’d done the usual pot of coffee I headed out the door to check my instruments before leaving for work. My instruments being the various meters in my battery shed that tell me what’s what on the energy front.

090311 002

A steady 1.6Kwh going into the oil filled radiators (dump loads) in the porch with 50Kwh dumped in a week and 15Kwh overnight.

090311 003

With my hydro turbine doing 500w and the wind turbine over 1500w in the westerly breeze I set off for work with a big smile. Calum’s road had just a light dusting of snow over it,

090311 004

 

though I was a little apprehensive about wifey driving over Glam in my footprints two hours later.

 

090311 005

The day at work was pretty routine with me making a wee start on the weekly planned maintenance and of course ‘filling her up’, well almost, 3500lts took us up to 11500, just 500 short of our 12000 capacity.

090311 006

When I finally got home I was pleased to see another 15Kwh on the meter with 960w going into the heaters 🙂

weather 090311

But then it had been a good breezy day with both of us at work,

graph 090311

Blog at WordPress.com.