Life at the end of the road

August 2, 2017

Is it Audacious ?

Filed under: boats, food, Land Rover — Tags: , — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:39 pm

Twenty minutes to ten in the evening and that’s me just in and got my priorities sorted.

P1110807

Never mind the shower I’m sat here in my overalls with a glass of wine. It has been rather a long day and yours truly is pretty well ‘pooped’ after spending rather a lot of it driving or crawling under the ‘Old Girl’. In typical form I left a mountain of work on me 1986 Land Rover until the last minute, though in fairness much of that was due to the lack of Internet. Anyway my front tyres arrived today and my engine mountings, both of which needed replacing before we head to Belladrum tomorrow. Trouble being the 33 x 12.50 x 15 tyres were on the mainland at my mums house.

So it was an early start to catch the 7:55 ferry

P1110795

though not as early as P&O’s Oriana 69,153t Oriana https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MV_Oriana_(1995) that was passing by at 6:30 this morning. She spent the rest of the day in Portree, sailing back north some 12 hours later.

The boy and I drove to collect the tyres, spent a couple of hours at me Mammy’s then headed back for the 13:00 ferry from Sconser and a spot of tyre fitting.

P1110801 P1110802 P1110803

Catching sight of what can only be the £3 billion HMS Audacious on sea trials east of Brochel. The Audacious https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HMS_Audacious_(S122)  was launched in May so this is most likely her having her ‘acoustic signature’ checked on the Rona Range.

I was lucky enough to catch the Astute doing the same thing some seven years ago.

The tyre changing went very well with a little help from Calum.

P1110804 P1110805

It’s almost worth buying a digger just to change tyres Smile

The engine mounting replacement got delayed whilst I made dinner using the fresh mussels and scallops we caught yesterday. I chose a Jamie Oliver recipe for the mussels  http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/pasta-recipes/grandad-s-mussel-linguine-linguine-con-cozze-di-nonno/ . Dead simple, a few mussels, 1 anchovy, 2 cloves of garlic, 12 wee toms and a little chili.

IMG_0771 IMG_0772 IMG_0773

The scallops I just fried up with some bacon and butter then served atop the pasta.

IMG_0774

It was pretty damn good I can tell you Smile However, it did mean I didn’t get back out to my engine mounts until after 18:00 and that simple task did not go well Sad smile

P1110806

The new ones had longer studs than the old ones which meant they wouldn’t fit. of course this didn’t become apparent until I’d been trying to force them in to a very small gap for 30 minutes Sad smile Anyway, a little work with a hacksaw and file sorted that and now ‘all is peachy’ but it’s 22:36 and I really do need that shower.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.