Life at the end of the road

January 5, 2017

I love the smell of napalm in the morning :-)

Two dry days in a row!!! boodly marvellous and I managed to get all my welding done in the dry. Sure enough, as predicted Wednesday was the good day that I was counting on to get some work done down the ‘ole.

  040117 008 040117 001

After pumping it out I was down there at first light as planned, but that wasn’t until almost 9:am in these parts with the much heavier cloud than predicted. I certainly wasn’t convinced that the rain would stay away, but much to my relief it did. What a difference it makes on a job like this being dry, using a welder, grinder, cutter and any amount of tools that don’t particularly like getting wet is so much easier. Despite this and even with the help of my son we still didn’t get all the welding finished.

My effort bears no resemblance whatsoever to the base recommended by Proven/Kingspan for their 15m tower but using what I had at hand I’m confident it’ll be far stronger than the specification. It’ll also be all my own work and have cost me a fraction of what I expecting to pay. When I planned this second turbine I’d always intended getting it done professionally. The last thing I wanted was a large lump of metal crashing through the roof of the house in a winter storm.

 The right tools for the job

I’ve always been one for buying tools, even before I lived somewhere were you just couldn’t borrow or hire them. Having the right tool for the job makes life so much easier and this job in particular has proved that to be the case. I purchased two specially to do it, a magnet drill and a die grinder.

   040117 002 Makita GD0600 240v die grinder 6mm collet 400w 3 year warranty straight grinder

 

The magnetic drill was just a cheap one as I figured that I would be using it that much after this task but already it has proved its worth on several other jobs. If you need a hole drilling in a piece of steel then forget the electric hand drill, this is the baby you need https://www.machinemart.co.uk/p/evolution-evo42-42mm-magnetic-drilling-110v/?da=1&TC=GS-060710043&gclid=CMzQyP7Cq9ECFRG3GwodhNkH9A though I’m sure mine wasn’t much over £200. A quality one will set you back the best part of a grand but for what I need this is perfect. The Makita die grinder is something I’ve never used until we bought one for a job at work and since then I’ve used it more and more and in many circumstance where I’d have used a grinder in the past as it produces little heat, no sparks and can reach into the smallest ‘nook and crannies’.

Having got the ‘root’ carefully into position and level I tacked it into place using 16mm rebar and of course more of that 6” channel, which whilst being too distorted for most applications was perfect for this. To make slight adjustments I dropped three of the 1000mm long M30 studs down to the bedrock and screwed them up and down accordingly before I tacked more steel into place.

 040117 003 040117 004

I made up three ‘feet’ out of some old hydro pole ‘cross trees’  and used another awesome tool I’d purchased, some time ago. This Evolution ‘radial arm saw’ from Screwfix was bought for finishing jobs around the house, where it too proved invaluable. However it’s just as happy cutting  8mm steel as 75mm wood and made short work of the heavy galvanised steel.

Jacking up the ‘root’ got it almost perfectly level, it was just left to a heavy duty ‘ratchet strap’ to do the fine tuning.

040117 007 040117 005

Once it perfectly level I got serious with the welder and more steel, at least I did until the power tripped Sad smile I’d forgotten to turn off the 3kW immersion in the house. Normally this never turned off, though in the summer I do lower the setting to 60 degrees from its normal ‘maxed out’ at 80 degrees. The solar hot water tubes seem to provide enough DHW in the summer for normal use. Even if I’m doing small welding jobs I leave it on, the SMA SI6.0H is rated at 4.6kW continuous, 6kW for 5 minutes and it can surge to 12kW for 30 seconds or something. I dunno what the 200Amp welder draws but it has to be more than 3kW cos it occasionally trips a breaker or blows a 13A fuse.

I guess wifey was having a shower and using the washing machine for the power went off after a while. It did however come back on after about 30 seconds so I went and switched the immersion off for the rest of the welding day. I have to say I was always a bit cautious about using a MIG or electric welder on an ‘off grid’ inverter. The truth is, until recently I’ve always used the generator when welding, having once read somewhere that repeatedly ‘striking an arc’ is bad for them. To be honest, I actually think it’s worse for the generator than the inverter, even at the high currents I’ve been using for this thick steel, (200Amps continuously) the inverter has never as much as dimmed a light.

Extra helpers

The wee pigs aren’t so ‘wee’ anymore and seem to really have ‘come on’ since they were turfed out of their muddy field. Strange because the gate was always left open for them to wander out on the hill if they wished. I think they too must have been well and truly ‘pi55ed off’ with the weather because they’re always out on the hill now.

 

 

040117 009

This will be them taking a wee nap out the back of the house,

040117 010 040117 013

though as soon as we went for more steel they came to help my son chop up the girders Smile

040117 015 040117 016 040117 017

We just managed to get these three longer ones set in a triangle mounted through the 1000mm M30 studs.

Thursday

Today it was another good day, better than yesterday in many ways as there was the odd break in the clouds but it was much colder and windier. The charts below suggest yesterday was windier but it certainly didn’t feel that way in the lower temperature.

 

Capture thurs

Wednesday’s west wind and relatively mild temperature.

 Capture thurs

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=IHIGHLAN44#history/s20170104/e20170104/mdaily

First job was finally finishing off the welding, after which I started inserting my odd bits of reinforcing mesh.

050117 003 050117 004

There’s smoke in them thar hills Smile

I love the smell of burning heather in the morning Smile

 050117 011 050117 013 050117 014

It’s that time of year again Smile Probably a sign of climate change, don’t ever remember it being dry enough for the traditional ‘muir burn’ this early in January.

Can you see the piper

It wasn’t all work today, the wee dug and I went out for a wander too.

050117 008

Here’s Grian a Sgeir west of Fladda

050117 009

and the Pipers Rock above Torran, though I’ve never ever seen him.

050117 005

We also made a start on the shuttering but gave up when the light finally failed around 16:30. Looks like a bit of rain through the night so I’d better go and make sure everything is inside. Tomorrow actually looks a good day, not carp or pishing with rain for the third day in a row, but ‘I’ve got to see a man about a quad’ Smile

8 Comments »

  1. I’ve seen the base being put in for a 80mtr turbine

    I think you maybe safe with your turbine

    Comment by thinfourth — January 5, 2017 @ 8:36 pm

  2. Well I’m hooked again Paul on yet another one of your amazing DIY projects, keep up the good work 🙂

    Comment by Tigger — January 6, 2017 @ 8:17 am

    • Hi Tigger and a Happy New Year to you, just wait until I build my new water distillation plant and the electric car then 🙂

      Cheers, Paul

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — January 12, 2017 @ 6:18 am

      • Happy New Year to you too Paul. I’ve just read the latest installment, I think you should use all the spare energy to heat up a public swimming pool, charge a nominal fee to visitors to the island and that will make enough money to see you into an easy retirement 🙂

        Comment by Tigger — January 12, 2017 @ 8:17 am

  3. Might want to run some straps out to that sturdy fence post,just beyond the hole,aswell.

    Wouldn’t want a large lump of metal shortly followed by a big block of reinforced concrete crashing through the house roof during a storm 🙂

    Top marks for material re-use.

    Comment by Andy — January 6, 2017 @ 12:56 pm

    • You’re getting me worried now Andy 🙂

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — January 12, 2017 @ 6:19 am

    • Aye Sean,

      enough there to keep a Proven or two going forever and put up a working one.

      Cheers, Paul

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — January 12, 2017 @ 6:10 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

