Life at the end of the road

February 10, 2015

It could only be a Citroen :-)

Filed under: daily doings, life off grid — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:34 pm

A bit of a hectic day today, especially when you consider that I awoke ‘without a plan’. I guess my body is still in ‘work mode’ was thinking I’d be joining the Hallaig today and not in a fortnights time. For I am of course on a months holiday, oh how I love working ‘two weeks on two weeks off’. Of course I’ve no shortage of jobs on the ‘to do’ list but when I leapt out of bed at 6:45 this morning I wasn’t sure what order to start them in. I am of course on holiday so feel no guilt at choosing ones I want to do rather than tasks I have to do.

The one thing that did need dealing with however was ‘fuelling up’, something that I’m hoping to see the ‘back of’ once we’re all sorted at Sonas. First though I wanted to fill up Harry’s 1250 litre diesel tank, get some oil for Torran and of course introduce my new neighbours to the joy of the 208lt steel barrel.

100215 001 100215 002

I’d left my bowser at Brochel yesterday for filling but still had a full barrel at ‘number 3’, though after measuring the contents of the tank I decided against using it. It’s a 1250lt tank, I’ve put 400lt in it previously and had ordered 800lt from Scottish Fuels, sure Harry has run, but probably only 20 hours in over a year.

So, after hearing that Lachie’s ‘telehandler’ was waiting at the ferry terminal I set off in the ‘Old Girl’ to collect it, it’s a good 90 minute drive in the JCB and only half an hour in a car. That would be an extra hour that Lachie could be working on my house if I collected it Smile Unexpectedly for around 9:00am in the morning, I met a car!! in fact I met two, the first one however belonged to a friend and had a puncture. Typically, miles from anywhere in a place with no phone signal so kind of fortuitous that I was ‘passing by’. In true Citroen fashion the spare wheel is slung under the rear floor and there’s not enough space to remove it if a rear tyre is flat. No problem, you just jack it up right, well we couldn’t find the jack so used the Land Rover one. Only problem being that it’s way too tall to go under the vehicle, luckily I managed to get the jack under one of the tow bar bolts and gingerly draw out the spare wheel, which was also flat Sad smile Still, at least we now know where the jack is kept, in a box inside the spare wheel, how French is that. You cannot remove the spare wheel without jacking up the car and they put the friggin thing inside it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ah well it was good ‘craic’ and we’d a nice run to Arnish  to blow up the spare, putting the ‘world to rights’ with particular reference to the idiosyncrasies of French automobiles.

 

100215 003

An hour or so after setting out I was down at the ferry to collect the telehandler and mixer.

 

100215 004

The slow and very bumpy ride north does gives you a chance to ‘pass the time of day’ and see the sights.

100215 005

Holoman island in the sun.

 

100215 009

A bit hairy though.

 

100215 011

I arrived back at Sonas to find the solar panels bathed in sunshine and the Proven/Kingspan both producing well so I went to tinker with my controllers.

100215 014

About 1600w from the wind turbine

100215 015

and 1745w being diverted to the dump loads in the workshop. All this with the heating on in the caravan too, so I’m ‘well chuffed’ Smile

100215 016

After that, it was a shot in the neighbour’s Nissan Patrol to collect 800lt of diesel and pump it into my tank using the new pipe I’d fitted yesterday. The new ‘hard wired’ pipework worked a treat when used in conjunction with the recently purchased transfer pump. Soon the tank was full to the brim with 70lt still left in the bowser which I put into containers for future use in the telehandler.

By the time I’d done all that, fed the hens, collected the eggs and tidied stuff away it dark and time for dinner.

2 Comments »

  1. Didn’t you just put the suspension on high to get the clearance to take the spare off? That’s the usual way to do it – suspension up, put the “jack” (really an unscrewable prop) underneath, slacken the nuts, suspension down, wheel off, new wheel on, nuts on, suspension up, jack out, bar the nuts up tight and suspension back to normal.

    My old CX (and indeed the GSA before it) had the spare tyre under the bonnet – a far more sensible proposition!

    Of course if it didn’t have hydraulic suspension it wasn’t a Citroën at all but a Peugeot in drag!

    Comment by Gordon JC Pearce — February 13, 2015 @ 10:25 am

    • Of course if it didn’t have hydraulic suspension it wasn’t a Citroën at all but a Peugeot in drag!

      🙂 Definitely a ‘Peugeot in drag’, I have to say I do have a soft spot for real Citroen’s Gordon.

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — February 15, 2015 @ 10:36 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

