Life at the end of the road

November 16, 2014

There’s a hen in our house :-)

Filed under: daily doings, shed/house, stonework — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:29 pm

Another spectacular day here at the north end, though for a change I decided to meet it after sunrise. Not from any overindulgence or even malaise on my part, but just because I could. Definitely out of character that, yup, I awoke at the usual ‘cock crow’ looked at the clock then turned over and went back to sleep. Most unusual, I reserve moment like this for the ‘man flu’ or after several bottles of wine.

Of course I regretted it as soon as I rolled out of bed, saw the day, realized I had to power wash the quad and trailer before 8:30 and clean out the hen nesting boxes. I barely had time to get out of my pyjamas let alone shower or have a cuppa. If I didn’t get that quad and trailer to the end of the road before it was needed by A N Other then I’d ‘be toast’ Sad smile Anyway, I did, and got the nesting boxes cleaned before the hens started depositing eggs in, so that was a result, I’d managed to avoid the wrath of two women and it wasn’t even 9:00am Smile

After feeding everyone and then doing the stuff I normally do before exiting the house I set off with yet another load out of my workshop, for the new barn.

016

  The pillar drill, 3/4” drive socket set, 38mm breaker, pipe cutting set, various pullers, taps and dies all making their final journey. The next time I move it will be to a home or in a wooden box Smile

017

It will be nice to have a view of the sea without having to crane my head out of a window and it’ll be good to see the road from the house. That way we can see who’s coming to visit and if it’s a double glazing salesman we’ll not bother going to the door Smile

018

I got my fish cage stanchions fitted beneath the overhang on the ‘solar powered hen house’ which gave me a great place to store timber undercover and free up some space in the rapidly filling barn.

021

Funny how you suddenly notice things after years, must have just been the light, for I never realized that you could see the old Post Office at North Arnish from the hen house. However, there it was sandwiched between the purple birch and auburn bracken.

My main task for the day would be to make a gate through the new fence that ‘sis in law’ and I had erected.

 

013

Wifey would be cleaning out the hens and dealing with ‘Bumblefoot’, me I’d have just pulled her neck two weeks ago, the hen and not the wife Smile Seriously though, the wee hen is carping all over my tools in the barn and making a right mess. She has had a poultice on the last few days which has brought down the swelling considerably so wifey is now adding some sulphur to her feed. Apparently a pinch a day mixed in with her food is very good for reducing the swelling.

 

010

The wee hen was temporarily moved into the new house today as I was constantly in and out of the barn. She’s quite happy in there but as soon as you open a door she makes for the exit, which wouldn’t be a problem had she not got a dressing on her foot. Hens being hens always seem to make for the muddiest messiest bit of ground, which obviously is not good if you are trying to keep her bandage and foot clean.

 008 009

Had it been up to me the hen would still be in there now but wifey wasn’t having it.

 

012

I dunno why because the hen didn’t seem to mind and it would save me getting stressed about all the hen sh1t on my tools Smile

 

024

It’ll be strange not seeing Calum’s old house from the kitchen window and it will be strange indeed to be able to see lights at night. Albeit not many, the occasional fishing boat or the flashing light of a gritter on Skye, the odd car driving from Staffin to Portree, but at the moment you cannot see a single man made light from our house! The only lights we see at night are the moon and stars, the odd shooting star and perhaps the aurora borealis if the clouds would clear.

 

022

I’ll miss the old stone sheds and ruins up at the new house too,

023

I’d always meant to re roof this barn, perhaps the neighbours will do it now.

025

Still plenty of mushrooms about, but what these are I’ve no idea.

027

That was it really, I got my gate finished and managed another load on my road

 

014

before calling it a day

 

015

and having monkfish for dinner.

One tail each served in a leak sauce with boiled potatoes, pure ‘cordon bleu’ Smile and it was good to see Bruchie back on the fish van Friday.

4 Comments »

  1. if that’s the camera on your phone, then it’s very good

    Comment by cazinatutu — November 17, 2014 @ 1:53 pm

    • Hi Caz, some from the phone and some from the old Panasonic, which doesn’t focus properly and keeps needing a ‘reboot’ 😦

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — November 17, 2014 @ 9:29 pm

  2. Haha! I am a fish man now too Paul!

    Do you get many double glazing salesmen up at the North End? 🙂

    Comment by Lloyd — November 17, 2014 @ 9:24 pm

    • We’ve had the Mormon’s the Jehovah’s the tinkers and the fitted kitchen salesmen, the double glazing chap was invited 🙂

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — November 17, 2014 @ 9:31 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

