Life at the end of the road

January 26, 2014

Almost daylight :-)

Filed under: boats, daily doings, New hybrid ferry, Trucks and plant — Tags: , , — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 10:12 pm

That’ll be a full week since I put down some ‘doings’ on what was once my daily blog, I guess postings will become more frequent as the days stretch but as it is just now I’ve not seen proper daylight at home for almost two weeks. That’s a strange one I can tell you, even in the depths of winter I managed to leave home after sunrise on a working Sunday, but not now, well not until today that is, though it was hardly light, the pishing rain, thick cloud and storm force southerly put paid to that. In fact it would have been daylight had not the threat of another ‘blackout’ at Raasay’s south end made me set off for work at 8:00am.

A lightning strike had put the power off yesterday and as well as taking out a router and fax machine ashore it had caused pandemonium on the Hallaig. Nothing serious but it had left me with with one blank screen and another with five red pages of alarms to clear prior to sailing. Consequently I missed out on my morning cuppa and Fionnlagh’s porridge until well after day break Sad smile Well I didn’t want a repeat performance of that so we all mustered on the pier well before 9:00am. I say ‘mustered’ but it was more a case of cowering behind the seawall and Land rover as we got the gangway ready. Not that we needed to rush, it was quite obvious we were going nowhere with the wind gusting to over 67knts, a ‘baw hair’ off 80mph.

Volvo D13 600h service

With the month drawing to a close it was a good opportunity to finish of some of the ‘PM’ (planned maintenance) and service one of the three main diesel generators. Normally these wouldn’t be used anyway on a Sunday as we normally sail in ‘Battery Only’ mode, but today I’d have the nice quite engine room to work in thanks to ‘Shore Power’. I struggle getting used to a quiet, warm and well lit ship engine room, there was no getting away from the noise in the Striven unless you were in near darkness on ‘emergency lighting’ and even the Finlaggan had to have at least one generator running within earshot.

 

  001

So after doing much paperwork, reading the manual and making up the obligatory laminated ‘checklist’, that seems to go along with everything other than using the toilet Smile I had breakfast, or should I say, we all had breakfast, all six of us, then I serviced the Volvo, or should I say, I tried to, for I couldn’t get the oil out of it!!!!

002

The thirteen litre 330kW beast refused to part with its 45lts of old sump oil despite me checking and rechecking all the valves to the waste oil tank were open. I even lifted some of the floor plates to make sure the pipe was going to the right place but no joy, after less then half a stroke of the 500ml pump it went solid.

003

Nothing for it but to start pulling the valves apart to check them, and luckily the problem was at the first of the five in the line that I check, It was fitted the wrong way round!!!

004

And by the time time I’d sorted that out, the once hot and thin oil was now cold and thick so I fired up the generator, put it ‘back on the board’ to load it up and went for tea Smile

 

006 009

A hundred strokes of the hand pump later the sump was empty the two main and one bypass filter changed, an oil sample taken and the sump refilled, though not by me alone. By this time most of the rest of the crew had turned up to lend a helping hand.

011 012

Three hundred and twenty strokes of the filling pump tells me that Ferguson’s could have done with fitting a bigger one!! I won’t always have such an enthusiastic bunch of shipmates Smile

The rest of the service amounted to changing fuel filter, air filter, checking belts, pulleys and generally having a good look around the hoses and joints for leaks. That done, and with no sign of the weather improving we ‘knocked it on the head’ at 16:30 and I set off home in the twilight, by the time I start my next two week shift it should be daylight for all of Sunday Smile

The rest of the week

Probably a bit pointless me trying to remember really, and I didn’t take many pictures either, as it was on the whole pretty wet and miserable and I spent a good deal of the week in the office.

 

002

There was much activity at the fish farm with the ‘Coastal Hunter’ still on peroxide duty.

 

003

There was also much activity on the roof of the new house on Monday night with Orion watching over Lachie Gillies as he worked by lamplight late into the night. It’s not a great picture and I was resting the camera on the Land rover window but you can clearly see the distinctive red ‘super giant’ Betelgeuse of his right shoulder  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orion_%28constellation%29

 

006

Wednesday had three commercials looking lost on Hallaig’s huge car deck, the car that also turned up later would have normally been left behind and stuck until 14:30.

 

008

Northern Lighthouse Board’s Pole Star paid us a visit too and replaced the flashing light on the east cardinal just out from Braes, it having gone really dim of late.

 

009

Thursday had us bunkering 3000lts of MGO that will under normal conditions last the whole week and more.

010

Saturday saw a little brightness during the day

 

013

 

the trawler Dunan Star,

021

and some ‘monkey’s fists’ getting a soaking Smile  http://www.animatedknots.com/monkeysfist/

 

020

it also had a half decent sunset, the first I’ve seen in a while.

015

 

023

It was even better on the way back Smile

 

024

 

So, that’s it, I’ll just leave you with the bridge of the Hallaig as it’s 22:00 and time for bed.

018

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.