Life at the end of the road

January 10, 2014

Four Tammies and two Spotties :-)

Filed under: daily doings, pigs — Tags: , , , — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:50 pm

What a day of contrasts it was yesterday, pure breath taking up at the new house site that’s for sure. Me, I spent most of the day working on the caravan whilst Lachie got on with some block work.

 008

For some reason the ‘wee dug’ aint so keen on the caravan unless I’m inside it with her, however, I spent a good deal of the day crawling around underneath it, fixing drains and sealing up holes to keep out the draughts. One thing for certain, I aint half as ‘bendy’ as I used to be, long gone are the days when I’d regularly slide under a vehicle and contort myself into a strange shape to extricate some bell housing bolt or exhaust bracket. Now I struggle getting up and down off the ground and every pebble or lump of gravel seems to stick into bony bits that were once covered in muscle, or at least impervious to pain. Yesterday I felt like I’d been run over by truck whilst lying on pile of freshly tipped bricks.

 

002

Of course it didn’t help when I had to keep removing myself to collect the tools I’d forgotten or take a picture of the amazing day. That will be the southern side of Loch Arnish with its many inlets, bays, caves and reefs, none of whom I can pronounce,

034

though the late Charlie MacLeod, Calum’s brother, drew this for me a couple of years ago. My good friend Bonk Smile translated them but I’ve forgotten that, just like I can no longer remember the ‘valve clearances’ on a Lister without consulting the manual Sad smile 

 

004

This will be the view looking north west towards the basalt cliffs of Kilt Rock, Brothers point or the ‘Dutchman’s cap’ is before that the the very aptly named Grian a Sgier, the ‘sunny rock’. Right there in the foreground are the purple birches of Aird Torran, I dunno why they always look that colour at this time of year, they’re even more startling when there’s snow on the ground.

The brilliant and sunny morning had actually led me into a false sense of security that even the odd rainbow couldn’t dislodge.

014

OK, I’m not dumb, I do know that rainbow must equal rain somewhere but we have a different climate here at the north end than the rest of Raasay and Skye. Many is the day that it’ll be pishing with rain at the south and and on Skye when all we’ll get is the odd light shower.

015

Anyway one of the many jobs on my ‘caravan list’ was to repair a leak in one of the skylights but that didn’t go quite as planned when I removed it late in the afternoon and the ‘heavens opened’ Sad smile It wasn’t a particularly long or even heavy shower but it dead wreck all my careful preparation and drying.

 010  011  012

So, after abandoning the skylight project and covering it with an old road sign I got on with interior work, like sealing up a draughty and leaky toilet, shower and some vents that had a veritable gale blowing through them. I know ventilation is important but we’re talking the west coast of Scotland here not the Vale of Evesham. Ventilation is only an issue inside hermetically sealed containers, certainly not a problem on a static caravan 70m above sea level facing westwards Smile

 

007

It was good to see a little colour too, not only in this lonely daffodil but also in the three goldfinches that turned up at the kitchen window!!!!

Goldfinch

Not my photo I hasten to add but lifted from http://www.feedyourbirds.co.uk/bird-info/goldfinch , now I’ve lived here almost 25 years and have probably only ever seen a dozen in all that time. Then just like a bus, three of them turn up at the same time, I was flabbergasted

028 029 030

especially as we now seem to have acquired FIVE cats!!!!

Friday

Well today was what I call a ‘none day’, I spent the whole day doing paperwork and on the phone, or should I say Skype, which, whilst not ideal has been a lifesaver.  My praise of Dido https://lifeattheendoftheroad.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/cheers-dido/ proved a little premature for the phone still isn’t working and her sidekick Mickey says it’s not going to be fixed until the 14th of January, that’ll be five weeks without a usable phone!!! There’s no way I’m getting a landline at the new house, the mobile works up there, we’ve a reliable internet connection, why on earth would you want to give the charlatans at BT or Talk Talk £15 a month??

Many thanks to Patrick for pointing out what to some would be blindingly obvious, Skype has enabled me to pay all my bills from the comfort of the kitchen and with a clarity that I’ve not heard in a quarter of a century. OK, nobody can actually phone me back but it’s better than nothing.

I’m in true awe of people that can spend their whole day sat down at a desk with a phone and some paperwork, in fact, I’m surprised that people can do it for more than a couple of hours if the weather is fine. Me, I find myself dashing outside every half hour or so to ‘check the pigs’ or remove a hen from the garden, I really would ‘crack up’ in jail.

There was of course the feeding that needed doing

018

and I combined that with weaning Jamie Lea’s spotties in the morning. The easiest way is to lead the sow away from the piglets but our Gloucester old spot is as ‘blind as a bat’ with those floppy ears and it was a bit of a performance. Still, I managed it and got her out onto the hill with Rocky and Ellie.

 020

Then I opened the gate separating the two litters and left them to it.

 

021

 

The ‘spotties’ are a wee bit smaller and a couple of weeks younger but they’ll soon catch up with the slower growing Tamworth’s, but at the moment the Tammie’s are ‘boss’

031

and initially they took over the ark, along with the hen Smile

033

However, when I checked on them a couple of hours ago the spotties were back in their rightful place but the hen wasn’t Smile

Anyway, there’s six of the wee darlings still unaccounted for, so if you’re interested in some fine piglets there are still four Tammies and two spotties available for £40 each delivered to Skye or Kyle area.

025

I only finally got out of the house at 16:00 but was much pleased to see that it was still very much daylight

026

perhaps not for long but enough for me to finish sealing the skylight on the caravan and wander over to Torran with the ‘wee dug’ in sunshine but at least light enough for me to do it without a torch.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.