Life at the end of the road

September 1, 2013

Awaiting midnight

Filed under: boats, daily doings, listers — Tags: — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 5:06 am

Well that was the last day of summer by with, and what a day, not in the weather department but in the ‘to do list’ stakes. Actually the weather weren’t all that bad either come to think of it, the odd shower right enough but a good hash of west wind to fill the wind turbine blades and keep the midge at bay. I’ve surpassed myself today, and to be honest I think it’s due to not having any internet, or at least anything worth using.

Getting up early, as I often do, I made use of it this morning, whereas normally I’d be plonking away on here massaging my ego by checking out the ‘blog stats’ and talking carp on various internet forums. Spared as I was the glowing screen and incessant tapping of keys this morning I went out early to catch breakfast and check the mink trap.

007

Armed with shotgun, fresh bait and a bag for collecting mushrooms I set off west about 6:30 just as the sun was rising above ‘Calum’s house’. The shotgun was ‘just in case’ the bait for the mink trap and the bag for mushrooms, chances of seeing a rabbit are slim, but it’s been an exceptional year for mushrooms so at least I’d not starve.

009 011

I wasn’t even off the croft before I’d spotted half a dozen hinds and a couple of calves enjoying the morning sun, but they were not on today’s menu and I struck off into the woods to fill my bag with chanterelles.

013

Right in the thick of the enchanted birch wood amidst the odd rowan lies this ancient hazel tree, blown over a generation or so ago it’s grown along the ground and now has three vertical trunks.

 

012

From a clearing in the wood I got a good view of a sunny Manish point before striking westwards once more and heading for the shore.

 016

Just shy of the high water mark, a few meters to the south of Port Arnish I came across one of the many strange little ruins that are scattered all over the north end. An hen house perhaps, a store, a shelter, who knows but there are plenty of them in the old birch wood.

017

Plenty of these too that thrive on dead birch stumps but for the life in me I cannot remember their name, just that they’re not edible, though I don’t think they are actually poisonous. Having said that the verges are full of death caps this year, a mushroom that can make you ill by just handling it and ingestion is fatal Sad smile

Moving Mister Lister

The mink trap was undisturbed this morning when I finally arrived  at the rocks near the Port Arnish shed, yesterday it had ‘sprung’ but was empty, so I changed the bait and moved it. This morning I left it be and turned tail with my bag of mushrooms and headed for breakfast, a simple affair of homemade bread, home laid egg and chanterelles fried in butter.

It must have set me up for the day, for after feeding everyone I hatched a plan. Moving around one ton of heavy duty Lister HR2 generator is not a task to be taken lightly, I’ve moved plenty of ST2’s, SR2’s, Rayburn’s and fishing boats using jacks, rollers, leavers and pulley’s. However, whilst getting Harry the HR2 into the trailer was easy enough, I was a little perplexed at how I was going to get him out. Access to his custom built shed isn’t great, involving a long reverse then a trick 90 degree turn, though in all honesty I’d always planned on coercing Lachie or ‘GDD’ to put it in with either a digger or telehandler.

The problem would be how to drag it out of the trailer and through the 4’ wide doorway without doing irreparable damage to my concrete floor and back.

 

004 018

Well I decided to bolt a bracket with a ring in it to the concrete floor and just for good measure I fastened it to a piece of wood that I secured to my serious battery shelf.

 

019 020

Then after a 200m reverse I pulled it out of the trailer using a 400kg ‘Tirfor’ winch,

 

022 

carefully marking the floor first and drilling it to take two 10mm ‘Rawlbolts’, it had four before but to be honest that rubber mounted skid isn’t going anywhere once the exhaust is mounted.

 

023 025 024

Mounting the exhaust in such a manner as to not shake the shed to bits took longer than actually unbolting and moving the generator. It’s still ‘work in progress’ as I need more pipe and brackets but I think we’re on the right track. It would have been far easier to take the exhaust out next to the front door but I’m wanting it to face away from the house for the sake of ‘peace and quiet’, though with any luck old Harry won’t actually be needed much.

Friday

As for yesterday, when I left you on the car park, well that was a rush into Portree for feed

003 001

after having spent the morning power washing Harry and repairing fluorescent light fittings then giving them a good painting for to go in the new shed Smile

 002

This Castlebay registered clam dredger was busy scraping away all day in the Raasay Narrows.

 

004

Portree seems to have a new fishing boat, unless it’s just passing through, a Tarbert registered Cheetah catamaran with two large four stroke Honda outboards on the back. http://www.trawlerphotos.co.uk/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=73168 Pride N Joy at her home port

TT 276 Pride N Joy

in May 2008, photo from the above link.

006

That’s it really, it’s almost 23:30 and if I waited until midnight I’d actually be able to post this as my internet should start to work again then. However my eyes are heavy and I need to think about what I’m going to do tomorrow Smile

Well that’s it 6:00am on the first day of autumn, “rabbits, rabbits, rabbits” Smile

6 Comments »

  1. Paul,
    Good to see Harry in his new home that winch seems like a great bit of kit and as you say saves the back.
    I take it the house has paused is the GDD & Lachie still on their hols in the Caribbean or a world cruise ?
    Was on Skye briefly two weeks ago when you were on the Clyde, Sconser ferry terminal looks really smart shame about the wall.
    All the best, Michael

    Comment by Arthur T Bomber Harris — September 1, 2013 @ 6:06 am

  2. Paul, have you never thought to put a tow ball on the front end of The Old Girl, it would make life so much easier!
    The mighty Tirfor, grand piece of kit for 1001 uses, havent used one for many moons … since early days in the REs, strewth, thats 40 years ago .. where does time go?!!
    GL!

    Comment by caadfael — September 1, 2013 @ 7:47 am

    • I have thought many many times of putting one on the front Caadfael, it’s something I’ve always had on previous Landies and even had on here once. However my ‘Old Girl’ is so high off the ground as to make one virtually useless as the rear of the trailer would dig in. I could put a drop plate on I know but it would be quite a hazard 😦

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — September 1, 2013 @ 8:43 am

  3. The TT registered boat are fishermen that are catching Wrasse for the Fish Farms and doing very well at it from what I hear. They were in Torridon a couple of weeks ago. Cheers and hope your broadband improves. We, over here, really appreciate your help in this.

    Comment by applecrosslifeattheedge — September 1, 2013 @ 9:00 am

    • Cheers for that wee snippet of info on the boat Ali http://applecrosslifeblog.wordpress.com/about/ I didn’t realize that they still used wrasse in the fish cages to nibble off the lice. I remember trialling it when I worked for ‘Kenmore salmon’ many years ago with mixed results, seem to remember that you got around a pound each for a wrasse in those days ( 1991? )

      Cheers, Paul

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — September 4, 2013 @ 7:27 pm

      • £2/3 now and I do not know what has changed as I thought the wrasse very quickly got tucked into the salmon feed and grow very fat. Maybe the feed is more regulated now and the wrasse hungrier for the lice?

        Comment by applecrosslifeattheedge — September 4, 2013 @ 9:42 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

