Life at the end of the road

March 30, 2013

Leaving ‘the triangle’

Filed under: boats, daily doings — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 11:27 pm

Well after 21:00 now and the good ship Finlaggan is taking the unusual step of berthing in Lochmaddy tonight to let our cousin the Hebrides lie in Tarbert, from where we’ve just departed. Having left the Clyde this morning after repairs to her turbo chargers the MV Hebrides is now well and truly on her way and will be ‘picking up the route’ at 9:00am tomorrow, or is that 10:00am ?? Not only do I not know the timetable but BST starts tomorrow so I’m sure there will be more than one person arrives early, or is it late, I can never remember. No, that’s not an age related thing, I’ve never been able to work it out, heaven alone knows how many times I’ve missed a tide or got a boat stuck on a beach because I got it wrong Sad smile Why on earth they just can’t leave the friggin things alone beats me. The hens still lay at the same time, the pigs still want fed at the same time and it puts me all wrong for weeks Sad smile

 

002

Anyway, as you can see the day got off to a spectacular start in North Uist this morning with a magnificent sunrise over Skye. The breathtaking  dawn being just a precursor to what was a truly beautiful day, in what, according to the BBC was the warmest place in Britain Smile Today, not only was it sunny but it was hot by comparison to the recent ‘sharp and clear’ days that have only felt warm when out of the east wind, or watching TV footage of less fortunate areas. Yes, today was a pure peach and I can only guess that many of the hundreds  of cars we shipped today must have driven from badly affected parts of the country and really felt like they were on holiday Smile 

Funnily enough I wasn’t even feeling envious at having to work, or not being on the croft, probably because I’m going to take a few days off next week instead of the usual Saturday and Sunday. Hopefully the new windows will be arriving for the house and I can spend some time with my son who seems to grow in my absence Smile Who knows I might even make a dent in that huge list that I have to do Smile

 

A mystery wreck

Today, no doubt due to the low spring tide, sunshine and me just happening to be on deck I spotted this wreck of an old ‘puffer’ at the entrance to Lochmaddy.

 

010

 

I was extremely surprised as I thought I knew where just about every wreck on the west coast was yet I’ve never come across this really obvious one sticking out of the water Sad smile

 

009

Before the advent of Ro Ro ferries and good road links these flat bottomed little steamships with their cavernous hold were the only mode of transport for the likes of coal, aggregates, building materials and many other cargoes. Even when the road networks improved they could still get to places cheaper than any other option, often just beaching on their flat bottoms and waiting for the tide to ebb before discharging to horse and cart on the sand. In my time on Raasay coal was delivered by puffer and prior to that when I lived on Scalpay we had sand and aggregate delivered by one.

Perhaps the mystery puffer ran aground one stormy night heading for the shelter of Lochmaddy??

1

This very one in fact, though when she came to Scalpay she was called the ‘Eilean Easdeal’ http://www.inveraraypier.com/puffer.html and operated by Easdale shipping. Built in 1944 as the VIC 72, VIC standing for ‘victualing inshore craft’ for she was used to carry stores out to larger navy fleet vessels.

Apparently it’s the ‘Burnside’  http://canmore.rcahms.gov.uk/en/site/102871/details/burnside+vallaquie+island+loch+maddy+north+uist+little+minch/ and she caught fire and sank in 1933. Not actually a ‘puffer’ but a slightly larger steamship but I’m not altering my text now Smile

014

Here’s Lochmaddy itself just a few moments later

015

and here some pyromaniac that’s been let loose with a box of matches on Skye Sad smile

 

016

Are those little white dots sheep leaping into the sea I wonder Smile

 

 

020

Just check out that smoke Sad smile

 

019

Still it wasn’t just the Sgianachs that were at it, here’s one on the mainland, or should I say three Smile

 

017

Oh well, at least the Cuilin’s weren’t on fire, yet Smile

Lochmaddy again

That’s us just arrived at Lochmaddy and judging by http://www.shipais.com/search.php the Hebrides is just off Skye doing almost 17knots

1

so that looks like it’ll be Kennacraig tomorrow night for us and goodbye to the ‘triangle’.

http://www.cmassets.co.uk/en/ferries/mv-hebridies.html

Anyway, sorry it’s a little disjointed but I’ve only just got an internet connection so I’m going to post this now before I make even more of a mess and go to bed.

5 Comments »

  1. That wreck looks like a real shipping hazard at the high tide mark for smaller
    vessels without marine GPS . Am guessing they would have it programmed in?

    Comment by confidential rick — March 31, 2013 @ 10:11 am

  2. amazing sunrise photo!

    Comment by may cruickshank — March 31, 2013 @ 12:07 pm

  3. The wreck in Lochmaddy is that of the SS Burnside a coaster that may have belonged to Jack Bros.. She was on a regular cargo service sailing from Glasgow round the islands. It is said that the vessel went on fire after arrival at Lochmaddy Pier and was beached where she now rests. The vessel carried a general cargo including barrels of petrol, part of the reason for beaching her a safe distance from the village.

    Comment by Iain — March 31, 2013 @ 12:18 pm

  4. I’m glad you are taking some extra time at home next week, even I am beginning to miss The Dude, Molly, and the Henherder. Is it true the Isle of Rasaay is paved with Cadbury eggs? Happy Easter to all aboard!

    Comment by drgeo — March 31, 2013 @ 2:08 pm

  5. Great photo of the rising sun..

    Comment by Gaz — March 31, 2013 @ 4:39 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

