Life at the end of the road

November 26, 2012

Just like old times :-(

Filed under: daily doings, weather — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:21 pm

I must be nuts, I’m parked in a layby ten miles from home with the wind buffeting the Land Rover and the rain lashing my rear end, well the landy’s at any rate. The lovely weather promised stayed on the mainland and never made it to the north end of Raasay, just as well really for I was stuck inside most of the day waiting for people to phone me, why do people NEVER phone back, or at least wait until you’ve popped out in desperation and never leave a message. Or worst still like Vigsyl leave one in Polish, or at least that’s what it sounded like, and the phone number was unintelligible. Probably just what the people who’s wrong number I dialled thought of me Smile Unintelligible or nuts anyway, so after the third combination of the coded number left on my answerphone I gave up, and waited once more for the phone to ring Sad smile This will be the satellite ISP who now goes by the name of Q-Sat   http://www.qsat.ie/broadband and are based in Ireland.

Anyway the long and the short of it is that I’m still without internet and will need a visit from an engineer Sad smile So that could be a while to say the least, hope he’s not coming from Dublin Sad smile Still the long wait in, had me candling and packing the eggs in small batches rather than doing them all at once. 

  002

It had me preparing my books for the accountant before he phoned me, something even more unusual than getting my VAT return in on time Smile He’s going to think  January  has arrived early when I plonk them on his desk on Friday, hope he doesn’t phone before then, that would spoil it Smile

 

 003

The wind and rain certainly kept the house warm, this will be the Proven charge controller indicating 42amps at 58v or just short of its maximum of 2.5Kw

004

I didn’t really do much outside  today other than prepare my very useful CLH trailer http://www.clhtrailers.com/ for taking the Tamworth’s away. This versatile trailer has to be one of the best things I’ve ever bought for the croft. Open sided for loading sand or gravel, large enough to take a quad,

005

put the sides on and you can pile wood in it,

006

and of course put the roof on to carry livestock Smile

Much of what I did today required the sending of emails so with no hope of my own connection being fixed, something I didn’t find out until well after 18:00 I headed to my mates at Torran http://www.uniquescotland.com/raasayschool/index.html only to discover his link had also gone down Sad smile Hence I’m stuck in this passing place near the Youth Hostel, as it’s the closest to home I can get a 3G signal. This reminds me of when I first moved here 23 years ago and had to drive ten miles to use the payphone Smile I really am well and truly stuffed without the internet, loads of house related stuff, money, solicitors, pig movements and of course the old blog just ground to a halt Sad smile I even tried watching the TV but gave up after about twenty minutes and drove down here. OK, some of the stuff I had to do was quite crucial, but how sad is that Smile

However despite my feet being toasty thanks to the Eberspacher diesel heater warming them I’m kind of scrunched up and not very comfy so I’m gonna call it a day and head home.

weather 261112

So after apologizing once more for not replying to all your lovely comments I’ll leave you with the weather

 graph 261112

which just keeps getting worse Sad smile

 

prophecy

According to XCWeather – Forecast for IV40 8PF (Postal Code) this is what’s in store but I’ll believe that when I see it, for it should have been like this today by their reckoning.

4 Comments »

  1. hope your accountant is not a blog reader, because he’ll be grabbing for his phone to ring you just to spoil your fun !!

    Comment by cazinatutu — November 27, 2012 @ 12:42 am

  2. Good to hear that all going well (apart from tinternet) the trailer sounds very useful, a good rival to Ifor Williams.
    Despite the precipitation looks like you have got back into the swing of things, can see the turbine has been doings its job electric heater and a T shirt on.

    Comment by Arthur T Bomber Harris — November 28, 2012 @ 1:53 pm

  3. Wellcome home Paul was searching on youtube and found this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_profilepage&v=zK86m1EED-A. Buildings fit in “snug as bug in rug”, not sure how the grass
    roof would handle 50mm of rain dumped on it overnight.

    Comment by mi — November 29, 2012 @ 1:14 am

  4. So very sorry to hear that your Father in Law has lost his battle, there are few words that can help from so far away, but i will try, – he is nw at peace you loved him anetc think of the good times , and as strange as it may seem – loook forward to Christmas – he has gone to a better place – the rest of you are all well and life goes on , it will be hard , you will miss him, and you will think of him , not all the time but at odd times , he will be there for you.

    life has to go on.
    remember the good times you had and make the most of yor time together with your family , remeber but do not dwell too much on the past.

    Comment by Siomon King — November 29, 2012 @ 11:10 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

