Life at the end of the road

July 21, 2012

Feels like a Sunday :-)

Filed under: daily doings, shed/house — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 10:10 pm

Probably will be Sunday by the time I post this, but for now it’s Saturday, it felt like a Sabbath because I didn’t get out of bed until almost 10:00am, ‘shock horror’ 🙂 That will be the lack of children around the house and box of red wine being responsible for that then. In all fairness it was a pretty ‘full on’ day yesterday so I felt no guilt and the weather is good enough for the pigs to manage just fine without breakfast 🙂

In truth, by the time I actually got outside doing anything it was nearer midday than I would have liked but a good spell of tidying up the house was required ready for the next batch 🙂 However, eventually I did get outside and made a start on the chores by worming our new sow Ellie, a ripe banana and bowl full of strawberries ensuring a full delivery of all the white powder that we use for the larger pigs. The piglets we inject but the sows and boar are easier to do orally.

 210712 002

Next it was up to the new house site to pull down the new fence that I’d just erected in April 😦 The fence had to be erected to make this bit of ground ‘stockproof’ for the ‘apportionment’. Now it has been inspected I can take it down so that we can lay drains and sewer pipe through it before reinstating it. I know it seems a little barmy but that’s the regulations and I fitted the fence in such a way that it could easily be taken down then put back up.

All this I’m doing now not because our drains are imminent but because I’m likely to be away for the next six months doing training for our new ferry.

  

Don’t she look lovely 🙂 http://www.cmassets.co.uk/en/our-work/projects/current-projects/hybrid-ferries-project.html . Three exhausts = three generators and that looks suspiciously like an FRC (fast rescue craft) below the davit so yet another course 😦

What is imminent however is the arrival of ‘Hugh Mackay Plant’ to do our groundworks and levels, so the next job was ‘ark shifting’.

210712 005

This converted 1500lt Balmoral oil tank has been sitting in the approximate position of our sons bedroom so I thought I’d better move it 🙂 I dunno how many of these old tanks we’ve acquired over the years but they’ve saved us a fortune and cost  http://www.balmoral-group.com/balmoraltanks/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=241&Itemid=132 a packet over the years. A batch of poor quality plastic beads from Switzerland leading to many of the tanks splitting when exposed to sunlight. Nearly everyone (apart from my own 🙂 ) on Raasay has had theirs replaced and we’ve ended up with many of them to make superb pig housing 🙂 This being the largest, having been widened with some corrugated iron and pallets.

210712 006

Despite its size, once the roof was removed it was fairly easy to roll out of the way.

210712 009

I also did a little more work on the shed ahead of tomorrow’s storm, fitting fibre cement eaves to the south side, not because I particularly like them but just because I found four ‘off cuts’ lying around and it seemed like a good idea 🙂

I wish I could get away with it 🙂

I also started to securely fix the windows and nearly wet myself, not on account of the rapidly deteriorating weather but on account of the ‘trickle vents’. Trickle vents are a legal requirement on windows if the house does not have a mechanical ventilation system. I’m not up on the current building regs but they are required by law to ensure an adequate exchange of air in a building. Now ‘adequate air exchange’ may be an issue in Sussex or the central belt but his is the west coast for fecks sake, it’s all you can do to stop the frigging draughts 😦 Let alone go cutting holes in thousand pound windows to make them 🙂

Anyway I had to remove these vents to fit flashings around the windows and guess what,

210712 010  210712 011

they were just dummies to satisfy ‘building control’ 🙂 Now the house these came off has been up at least 20 years without any issues of mould or air quality so why should I have to put holes in my .83W/(m.2K) triple glazed Austrian windows 😦

I know, it’s pretty lame but it’s after 23:00, the wind is rising and I need my bed 🙂

3 Comments »

  1. No vents in the windows???!!! gosh and we haven’t suffocated yet, just checked and the replacement ones are all fine, phew, what a relief!!

    From a very relieved Oyster George.

    Comment by George — July 22, 2012 @ 10:41 am

    • Morning George, glad to here that you’re still breathing 🙂 How on earth you managed the last twenty years without your ‘trickle vents’ is a miracle. Your house must have been covered in mold and I’m really surprised that you both didn’t suffer long term respiratory problems. Just think of all the folk who you’ve had staying over the years and be prepared for a deluge of litigation 🙂

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — July 23, 2012 @ 6:42 am

      • The claims are already flooding in……..!!!!!

        Comment by George — July 23, 2012 @ 7:55 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

