Life at the end of the road

January 7, 2012

Mighty mulligatawny :-)

Filed under: daily doings, food, hydro — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 12:19 am

I dunno whether you can catch depression or if there’s such a thing as ‘viral depression’ but the whole household seems to be suffering from a dose of the blues. It’s probably just the time of the year, short days, the ‘come down’ after Christmas, a mountain of chores to do, a pile of tasks on the ‘back burner’ and of course the abysmal weather 😦 Whatever it is it seems to have affected the whole household, wifey’s ‘nippin my heid’ the boy’s pukeing in the spare room and I’m not long out of bed 😦

I’ve just been ‘pure shattered’ of late,

050112 010

even at work 🙂 Now before I get a ‘written warning’ it must be an old picture because the 2011 year planner is still up and it would have been on my lunch break anyway. Thing is I just found it on an old camera that must have been left lying around. Well that’s my story and I’m sticking to it 🙂

Anyway, no posting last night cos I was in my bed at 18:30 wrecked, I did get up again around 22:00 for half an hour but returned to my pit and slept right through until 8:30 this morning. It’s not like I did a great deal of physical effort or anything on Thursday, far from it. I’d got up after a good sleep at 7:30 and gone out to feed with one of my boys pals Robert. He’d gone to attend to the Tamworth’s on the hill and I to distract Jamie Lea with a dish of feed well away from the ark.

Wee Tam was needing the first of his twice daily .2ml jag of  anti-inflammatory and I was unsure how she’d react.

050112 001

No problem as it turned out, I nestled wee Tam’s head in my toasty ‘red neck hillbilly’ jacket and gave him the shot in the leg. Piglets can scream ‘blue murder’ but if kept snuggled up in the dark they’re quite calm and feel safe. The important thing is not to keep injecting him in the same place, not easy when he’s so small and has to have so many 😦

060112 001

Once done I placed him back in the warmth of the ark,

050112 002

the others being outside with mum.

After that I headed for the 9:55 ferry to do a little ‘water work’ at my parents house, leaving wifey to deal with the pigs and pig feed from Portree.

050112 003

Now, I know that’s just a boring picture of the Loch Striven but the sun is actually shinning on it, not only is it the first time that I’ve seen the sun this year but it’s the first time I’ve seen it for weeks 🙂

It was a bonny day indeed, at least by recent standards and I spent most of it sorting out my parents water supply.

050112 004

The deluges of late having torn off the filter and allowed stones to block the 63mm water pipe. Normally it’s just a matter of uncoupling it lower down and ‘rodding’ clear with a length of 32mm saved for the purpose. However no amount of ‘rodding’ would shift the blockage, even cutting the pipe 2m before the filter and trying to clear it with a proper set of drain cleaners failed to clear the obstruction 😦

050112 005

In the end I had to cut out the blocked section and insert another. I tried being clever by connecting the old and new sections together then ‘pulling/pushing’ it through the gravel bed of the dam but it didn’t work 😦 So in the end I just had to dig a fresh hole, feed the pipe through and refill it.

That done, a plate of smoked salmon pasta demolished and the water filter changed I headed home,

050112 009

to find the boys working in the dark on the Torran path, what a team 🙂 No flies on these boys, no lying in bed until after lunch and expecting mum to wipe their backsides with these chaps, a credit to their parents 🙂

Friday

Not long after that I was in my bed leaving wifey reading Terry Pratchet and the boys playing ‘Modern Warfare II’ or some other mindless pish on the ‘idiot box’. I am not a fan of video games, TV or the plethora of junk that our children and adolescents are subjected  to. However I think that if  children are ‘involved, encouraged and engaged’ with other stuff  it does no great harm. Certainly doesn’t seem to have fried the brains of these three yet 🙂

This morning, after yet another 13 hour sleep we went out to feed and medicate the pigs, prior to a trip down south to help a mate with some pipe. This time however it was two injections for wee Tam, an antibiotic as well as his anti inflammatory, poor wee chap 😦

 

060112 002

It would be mostly ‘winch work’ for the ‘Warn 9500XP’ but we took the quad just in case.

 

060112 004

The day went well, despite a rapid deterioration in the weather

 

060112 006

060112 010

and eventually we’d achieved as much as could be expected 🙂

Cold, wet and hungry we returned north to a poorly piglet and an awesome bowl of soup. Wee Tam was breathing a little more rapidly but I stayed with him to make sure he got a drink off mum before retiring to the kitchen for a bowl of Jamie Oliver’s soup.

 

060112 015

Now this version of a ‘curry soup’ of Tamil origin is a serious and fulfilling winter dish http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mulligatawny . Wifey plucked it out of the book I’d bought her for Christmas http://www.channel4.com/programmes/jamies-great-britain and I really had to laugh when I started to ‘Google’ for the recipe  http://yummychooeats.wordpress.com/2012/01/05/the-mighty-mulligatawny/ for someone else had obviously got the book for Christmas and had tried it out recently 🙂

060112 017

I couldn’t find the recipe Jamie so I hope you don’t mind the infringement of copyright 🙂 Either way, your soup is awesome, so much so that the entire team had seconds. OK, my boy is now in bed throwing up but I’m sure that’s more to do with all the cr4p he was eating  in the back of the Land Rover than the soup 🙂

 

060112 016

4 Comments »

  1. I see a well thumbed Collins Dictionary, so I presume that like me you can’t spell for toffee, I usually write any comments down first in open office, which is a free and very good office program, it has an excellent spell checker, Then I just copy and paste

    regards

    Dave

    Comment by Yorkshire Miner — January 7, 2012 @ 1:21 pm

    • Dictionary for the crosswords Dave (not me) I use Firefox which has a built in ‘spell check’ Bill Gates has got quite enough money as it is 🙂

      Happy New Year, Paul 🙂

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — January 8, 2012 @ 9:57 pm

  2. Hope the ‘viral depression’ subsides soon. Think Wee Tam is just gorgeous!

    Comment by Mary F — January 7, 2012 @ 9:44 pm

    • Viral depression fading fast Mary 🙂

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — January 8, 2012 @ 9:58 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

