Life at the end of the road

December 9, 2011

Not a good time of year :-(

Filed under: daily doings, pigs, weather — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:01 pm

Not even 19:30 and I’m nodding in front of the laptop craving my bed, though I’m determined to resist the temptation a little while longer at least. I was awake at 3:00am this morning and if I turn in now I’ll probably have a repeat performance tomorrow.

I couldn’t even blame the weather for keeping me awake for the storm had slipped away eastwards in the small hours,

screen

leaving a trail of destruction in its wake. Trees down, roads closed, ferries cancelled and even people without power now, after 29 hours 😦 Not that we suffered any damage, and making our own power we’ve not had a power cut in six years 🙂 Come to think of it I’ve only been without power twice in twenty two, though on both occasions it was probably for a week 😦

After my 3:00am start and a couple of hours on here I did manage back to bed until 7:30 but hardly slept for worrying about the pig that is currently in my Land Rover, but more of that later. Despite the relatively clear sky and huge waxing gibbous moon dawn arrived late, but a tour of the croft in its half light revealed no damage. Well apart from an upturned feed trough and a few broken twigs.

I spent a couple of hours tidying the croft up in an attempt to make the place look more respectable and get rid of some of the cr4p that I’ve been hoarding for thirty years. My squirrel like ‘siege mentality’ has had me saving some pretty bizarre things over the years and I’ve decided ‘enough is enough’. I no longer need a set of new and boxed Volvo door mirrors circa 1975 or a life raft survival kit from the same era complete with ships biscuits and morphine substitute 🙂 The 1980 Ford Sierra clock was going in the bin along with wheels of a ‘manhole lifter’ and the 500lts of old engine oil I’ve been ‘saving for a rainy day’ got decanted from its 25lt plastic containers into three steel barrels.

I’ve not disposed of any in over twenty years, keeping it stored in plastic containers under cover, my intention being to make up a waste oil burner or even to run one of the Lister’s off it. However regulations on this kind of thing have (rightly) tightened up over the years, mainly on account of all the heavy metals and cr4p in it. So I’ve decided to dispose of it responsibly, which means taking it to Skye to be uplifted by a company that specializes in waste oil removal and getting a receipt 🙂

 screen

The dry and breezy day meant it was perfect for cutting rushes for bedding so I got on with that until lunch time, after which we moved an ark.

091211 007 

Apart from Rocky our Tamworth boar, all the pigs are ‘on the hill’, that is outwith the croft and Rocky will soon be joining them. However we needed to move a heavy insulated and floored ark from this swamp into the field next door for Jamie Lea first. On firm ground it’s pretty straight forward, but with access by vehicle impossible and approaching on foot risky it was quite tricky, not hard or even heavy, using fence posts as levers and plastic pipe as rollers, just tricky, or at least difficult to do without loosing a wellie 🙂

 

091211 008

Even trickier with a pig inside 🙂

091211 010

Anyway we eventually got it done and settled into a nice dry and solid part of a field that had been ‘fallow’ for six months.

And I can’t keep my eyes open any longer so I’ll tell you about the elusive pig the dead phones and the landslide tomorrow 🙂 probably at 4:00am 🙂

1 Comment »

  1. If my memory serves me well – never guaranteed at my age (60) – a load of old scrap that might someday have a use , fridges, washing machines, scrap cars etc – is the sign of a genuine, traditional croft. At least it was when we were over in Trotternish many moons ago!

    Comment by Iain — December 9, 2011 @ 11:14 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

