Life at the end of the road

July 28, 2011

The end of an era :-)

Filed under: boats, daily doings — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 5:27 am

No posting last night as I went straight to my bed after work, just a bowl of pasta and then bed, not even a bath. I saved that for this morning at 5:00am.

Anyway, it’s back to that beautiful Tuesday that saw me and the boys recovering the hundred meter length of pipe from Fladda and pulling down my boat shed, The pipe I told you about, the shed, well it was more of a roof really, I never got around to as I went to bed 🙂

I have to say that I was a little emotional about destroying this temporary shelter that I’d constructed some 16 or 17 years ago to rebuild the boat that I’d salvaged from 18m of water.

conqueror 072

Though I hasten to add that was it after I’d spent two years rebuilding it.

conqueror 080 conqueror 081 conqueror 085 conqueror 086

Building this shelter and the two years that I spent rebuilding the Conqueror was a pivotal and very exciting period of my life.

 conqueror rebuild_0002

The ‘shed’ that I’d constructed out of twelve telegraph poles and the old corrugated iron from my house roof, has long served to remind me of the happy months I spent under there, with the little Petter generator screaming away in the background 🙂 Everything, apart from the pallets came down the track from home on my Suzuki quad, even the poles, two at a time 🙂

conqueror rebuild_0003

It was only ever intended to be temporary but ended up being a useful place to store boats and stuff out of the worst of the weather. However the elements have taken their toll on it, the roof was rusting and full of holes and some of the eighty year old poles that brought the first phone line to Arnish have had their day.

260711 037

So with the boys, my mate, a generator, grinder and chainsaw we set about demolishing it 😦

260711 040

Something that proved a little harder than anticipated

260711 041

and we had to resort to pulling it down with the quad

 

260711 042

but down it came

260711 043

in a heap 🙂

That was the relatively easy part, the hard bit was removing the old tin to salvage the best of the poles and clearing up the mess. However I had to dash to work so left that in the capable hands of my mate 🙂

Our activities, probably due to the fire, seemed to attract some attention 🙂

 

 260711 045

With a visit from Kevin and Pam on the Spindrift http://www.boat-trips-charter-hire-skye.co.uk/

260711 046

and from Peter Urquhart’s Brigadoon http://www.accommodation-portree.co.uk/boat-trips.html a boat that I know well enough, having done many trips to Rona http://www.isleofrona.com/ aboard it to go diving on the fish farm there.

Wednesday

Well it got off to a fine and bonny start

270711 001

with the sea cadet training ship (well more of a boat) TS Jack Petchey berthed at the end of our pier.

270711 002

It stayed blue, breezy, hot and beautiful right up to the last sailing

270711 004

when this cloud cam along and deposited some rain on us 😦

270711 005

Having left my windows open on the Land Rover I ended up with a wet bum 😦 however the sight of yet more black pipe deposited on my doorstep, this time by a friend, cheered me up no end 🙂

Blog at WordPress.com.