Life at the end of the road

July 20, 2011

I thought our path was good :-)

Filed under: daily doings, food — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 9:43 pm

Almost 22:00 now, so this is going to be quick, it’s been a peach of a day and I’m worn out 😦 So worn out have I been of late that wifey made me an appointment to see the doctor today, well she’d have to because I’d never get around to it 🙂 So after feeding everyone this morning I headed down to the new clinic at School Park.

200711 002

Just missing the morning rush hour on the youth hostel road 🙂

The doc gave me the once over and told me that I was perfectly fit and no longer 30 but 55 and should slow down a little. I really need to get back on the ferry, this three weeks ‘holiday’ is killing me 🙂

200711 003

Of course no journey to the south end these days would be complete without a trailer load of beach stones for wifey’s path and whilst turning at the old ferry terminal I spotted this gull chick. Actually I spotted the mother little gull dive bombing me so went looking for her offspring and found it on the pier 🙂

Calling in at the Raasay stores for a few supplies I bumped into my mate Willie Eyre, who had also been path building.

200711 004

To say that I was most impressed would be something of an understatement, I just hope wifey does not want me to build one.

200711 005

Heading back up the road I saw that the ‘club’ were busy at the shearing in the big shed at Glame.

200711 009

Once home we transferred the beautiful beach stones and their incumbent shells to the quad trailer for laying on the path and went in for lunch.

  200711 010

After lunch I took the boys out fishing,

200711 013

the first one being caught by this young chap

200711 017

and the next two by this one, he was not pleased 🙂

 

200711 018

for about five minutes 🙂

With the heads and tails for bait we went to haul the creels

200711 021

though two of them went back to put on a little more weight 🙂

That was about it really, I cut the lawn at last, cooked the lobster and made a marinade up for the two lithe (pollock) that I filleted ready for hot smoking tomorrow.

200711 022

I’ve left these overnight in the fridge in a brine made from salt, brown sugar and lemon juice,

200711 023

tomorrow I’ll dry them off and hot smoke them in oak chips for dinner with a wee lobster starter, it’s tough living ‘in the sticks’ 🙂

Blog at WordPress.com.