Life at the end of the road

May 14, 2011

Problem loading page :-(

Filed under: animals, daily doings, Land Rover — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 11:42 am

Too tired to put pen to paper last night I collapsed in front of the ‘One eyed monster’ to watch a Pedro Almodavar  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pedro_Almod%C3%B3var  film, Volver http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volver. By the time it had finished I could hardly keep my eyes open so went to bed, not because the film was dull but because I’d been up since 5:00am.

Once again I’d spent much of the day under the ‘Old Girl’ dodging showers that were not quite as severe as yesterday (Thursday) but with enough frequency and suddenness to prevent any roof work. On this particular day I was concentrating on the front axle and steering in readiness for the MOT and discovered that my ‘woolly’ steering was in fact caused by a worn ‘drag link end’ and not adjustment in the steering box as I’d thought.

 130511 009

The ‘drag link’ being a steel bar that connects the steering box to front left hand wheel (on a RHD vehicle), steering movement then being transferred to the right hand wheel via the ‘track rod’ at the rear of the axle.

 

130511 011

As with most things on the ‘Old girls’ suspension both the track rod and drag link are uprated as the standard items are prone to bending. Unlike most ‘normal’ people I colour code the joints at each end with paint, green for right hand thread and red for left. I then wrap the threads in ‘Densotape’ to prevent them seizing on the thread. All this may seem a little extreme and ‘anorak’ like but I can change one of these joints in a few minutes without having to resort to WD40 a hammer or blow torch and can identify at a glance which thread to order.

 130511 001

I also measure the distance down the threads so the steering wheel remains central and the track does not need checking afterwards.

All that done before breakfast, wifey and I went down to the beach at Screapadale to get some stones for the paths in the veg garden.

130511 002

The rough track down to the shore being an excellent ‘road test’ after the major service I’d just given her.

130511 003

In the distance on the far left are the Crowlin islands, between there and Raasay’s Rubh na Leichie is the low lying Sgier Dearg (red rocks) and in the foreground on the right the ‘false church’ and ‘white face’ of Raasay’s dramatic eastern side.

130511 004  130511 005

 

The rest of the day was spent helping wifey in the garden, watching the day old piglets tentatively stepping out in the sunshine and doing some more re seeding on the croft.

Around 15:45 we set off to pick up the boy from the ferry, he’d been away on the School trip to Edinburgh and wifey, myself and the ‘wee dug’ were missing him.

 130511 007

The bus was late and missed the ferry so we were stuck down there for over an hour until the 17:35 arrived, luckily I’d brought my trailer and we did a little stone gathering on the beach as the tide arose around the once proud Golden Emblem.

The Dude arrived safe, sound and full of stories about Home – Our Dynamic Earth, http://www.edinburgh-butterfly-world.co.uk/, http://www.deepseaworld.com/, http://www.edinburghcastle.gov.uk/, the Glasgow Science Centre http://www.gsc.org.uk/ and the many other things they’d done.

By the time I’d fed all the herd, eaten then unloaded the trailer I was in no mood for posting or even a glass of wine so watched the film and went to my bed.

 

weather 130511

 

graphn 130511

As is usual at this time of year I was once again awake at 5:00am so thought that I’d post a few words, trouble was that Hylas wouldn’t let me, no matter how many times I tried I could not receive a signal from Avanti’s  http://www.avantiplc.com/  Highly Adaptable Satellite HYLAS 1

I have had phone calls and messages on the blog from other subscribers, to what can only be described as a reasonable service at best. Whilst I have for the first time ever been able to watch BBC I player there are times when no matter what I do, I can’t get online, it’s not happened for a while but this morning I just gave up. Other users however have just had crashes, freezes and abysmal performance, which is why this post is a little disjointed and vague. Being unable to get online I’ve been blogging on the move so to speak and I’m just about to upload this from

 130511

here 🙂

5 Comments »

  1. Well all I can say is, if the old girl got down the rough track to Screapadale then that’s some motor. No wonder you’re madly in love with her:)

    Where’s here on your bottom pic Paul? I don’t recognise it.

    Comment by Rienza — May 14, 2011 @ 1:01 pm

    • Hi Rienza,

      ‘here’ is Loch Duich, dunno about queuing up in the Clyde, perhaps they were waiting for a pilot?

      Cheers, Paul

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — May 14, 2011 @ 8:35 pm

  2. The last picture is so beautiful could you make a video from that spot and just slowly turn in a circle. I love the desert but I grow tired of the brown……

    Tony

    Comment by Tony — May 14, 2011 @ 5:49 pm

    • Hi Tony,

      bit different from Arizona hey 🙂 there’s times that I long for bit of your climate and scenery too so don’t feel so bad. I’ll shoot a video for you next time I’m over there 🙂

      Cheers, Paul

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — May 14, 2011 @ 8:38 pm

  3. Hi Paul,
    Reminded every day that we walk in the Lattari Mountains here in Southern Italy of your home on Raasay.
    Homes and the terraces that were left many years ago for greener pastures are now returning to occupation by the locals and the terraces are being restored to their former glory of the hard life of self sufficiency.
    Thanks for your brilliant blog

    Comment by chrisb — May 15, 2011 @ 5:11 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

