Life at the end of the road

April 17, 2011

Music at last :-)

Filed under: animals, daily doings, Land Rover — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 6:47 am

I was up ridiculously early today for no good reason so spent a couple of hours on the laptop catching up on the blogging front. It’s that time of the year when there just aren’t enough hours in the day and much has to be done. It was whilst plonking away on here that I had a visitor at the back of the house.

160411 002

It was the same chap who’s antlers I’d picked up on the way to work a week ago and he was doing a fine job of the grass at the back of the house.

160411 001

Pretty soon a new pair of antlers will be sprouting with alarming speed from those two lumps on his head, notice the nick in his right ear, I think he may have come from the island of Rona. He’s certainly been a member of someone’s herd once upon a time and they can certainly swim for huge distances.

 

Map picture

 

When I lived on Scalpay (the island on the left) a mate of mine saw a stag on Longay and he was not a Scalpay beast, even if he had have been it’s over a mile and there are no deer on Longay so he must have been heading for the Applecross peninsula !!!

160411 005

I watched him for a while taking chunks out of the corkscrew hazel 😦 before he heard a noise and shot off.

160411 006

The first task this morning was of course to check on Thelma, who’d been hit by a car on Thursday and had spent a couple of days not moving very far, eating little and trembling allot. I’d examined her to the best of my limited ability and found nothing broken so wifey and I rubbed arnica into her bruises and scrapes last night and let her be.

This morning she was out of her shelter with Louise squealing to be fed so I reckoned she was ‘on the mend’, sure enough, I opened the gate to the field after they’d been fed and the were off out on the hill like two ginger rockets 🙂

The second job was cleaning out the pigs and changing bedding, a job that was far easier since the end of the torrential rain and the drying out of some of our swamps. The actual shelters were clean enough now all but two of the piglets are away but I managed to scrape together enough ‘pig pooh’ for the raised bed in the garden.

 

160411

A 7.5 ton digger track makes a fine raised bed 🙂

With wifey in Portree shopping I had charge of the boys, not that they need it but it did give me chance to commandeer them for a good session of cutting rushes for bedding. They had been planning a trip to Torran but the household their arise at a much saner time than I 🙂 Anyway with the trailer full of bedding we went hunting with my boys ‘Crossman Ratcatcher’ .22 CO2 gun. You’ll have heard the expression ‘turkey shoot’ well this was a cockerel shoot, or guaranteed Sunday dinner shoot. Normally I’d just grab him in the dark whilst he’s roosting and pull his neck but our hens live outside and have taken to roosting high up in a tree. I suppose this is what hens normally do in the wild but 99.9% of people shut them up at night so never know. 

image

I’ve probably shot more dinners with little gun than all my others put together, accurate and deadly up to about 25yds it’s small enough to swing around in the Land Rover without clattering anything. The cylinders are a tad expensive at around £9 but they give you a good few hundred shots and look at the power.

 

160411 015

160411 013

160411 014

 

That’s a half inch thick piece of wood that it went straight through and even marked the plank below 🙂

Once the alarm clock was silenced I hung him up by the feet ready for skinning, he was quite an old bird so would be getting a pot roasting to tender him up. These older birds may require a little more chewing but the flavour is out of this world and the stock is divine.

Wifey arrived back just after 12:30, not only with shopping and some fine red wine to accompany the rooster but also a new tape player for the Landy 🙂 I know red wine is the normal tipple for chicken but our chickens are not normal 🙂

The tape deck and CD player died in my Land Rover about six weeks ago and I’ve been somewhat depressed ever since, probably on account of having to listen to the radio 😦 I know I could listen to a music station but Radio one is pure pap, Radio two is OK but I hate Steve Wright and I can’t get http://www.cuillinfm.co.uk/, In fact I can’t hear the other stations that well for half the journey either 🙂 My choice of listening ever since I started diving in 1977 and discovered the Shipping forecast has been Radio four. Six whole weeks of it without a break for some tunes of my choice is far too depressing and could well be enough to set me off on some rants about foreign entanglements, nuclear power, and News International.

Not only did the tape and CD player expire but the radio had fits of not working leaving me in a silence punctuated only by various rattles and squeaks that I can’t normally hear 😦 Anyway that all came to and end today when the Sony CA 670X arrived in the post from eBay for a mere £26 including postage. I had got one a couple of weeks ago minus the face for a pound and was hoping to pick up a new face for around a fiver but got sick of waiting and bid on this one.

  160411 012

I hate radios without knobs but six weeks of fruitless searching for a reasonably priced Sony with a volume knob instead of a stupid rocker switch was too much so I got this one. Of course anyone else would have had it fitted in a jiffy but it took me all afternoon on account of having to replace the roof aerial lead as well.

 

 

What a treat it was to be greeted by Dave Clarke, the ‘Baron’ of techno 🙂 Far better than John Humphries 🙂

9 Comments »

  1. Good morning Paul,
    You and your music, I well remember driving up to Mull from Accrington overnight one Easter yonks ago to the sound of Led Zepp et all at a gazillion mega watts to prime our eardrums for a weekend of spectacular diving.
    Just off to Jersey for a few days with Richie and it couldn’t be a better morning, tad frosty and wall 2 wall sunshine.
    Thanks for the great blog and extra fine pics.
    Have a good week
    Chris

    Comment by chrisb — April 17, 2011 @ 7:39 am

  2. Hi Paul,
    I’m a daily fan reader of the blog, wherever I am in the world. Pure magic.
    My wife and I are passing by the ferry on Friday Apr 29 or Sat 30th. We have something for you. Will you be on duty? Greetings, Mike

    Comment by mike bassett — April 17, 2011 @ 3:03 pm

    • Morning Mike,

      Friday the 29th will be the royal Waverley day http://www.waverleyexcursions.co.uk/waverley.htm and we’re booked for a trip around Raasay as I’m not working.

      Cheers, Paul

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — April 18, 2011 @ 6:57 am

      • Hi Paul, Are you back on duty the next day or can I pass on what I have for you to one of the crew? Anyone in particular?
        Mike

        Comment by mike bassett — April 18, 2011 @ 7:34 am

  3. Listening to Dave Clark, I couldn’t help but imagine a William Shatner-esk cover version by John Humphries.

    Comment by Lorenzo — April 17, 2011 @ 6:59 pm

    • Morning Lorenzo,

      listening to Dave Clarke to me back to a tent on the shores of Loch Ness and an old airfield just outside Liverpool, his sets are just relentless 🙂

      Comment by lifeattheendoftheroad — April 18, 2011 @ 6:52 am

  4. Just hypothetically if someone wanted to re-settle Manish would you have any tips?
    (Not for me, I have my own lifetime croft project now)

    Comment by Max — April 18, 2011 @ 7:14 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

