Life at the end of the road

July 12, 2010

Well and truly washed out :-(

Filed under: daily doings, hydro — lifeattheendoftheroad @ 6:40 am

I think I can safely say that the rain gauge on my weather station is a little wonky, recording only 2.6mm for today and 35.8 for yesterday. I remember it as dry yesterday and it felt like over 100 today 😦

graph 110710

Sitting at the nice warm table during the morning monsoon and realising that all my waterproofs and wellies were about 50m away in my workshop made me VERY reluctant to go and feed. It was well after 8:00am and by now you would normally here the pigs complaining, seems like I was not the only one who’d rather be inside than out.

However it had to be done so with all the enthusiasm of a cat about to be thrown out in the rain I made a dash for the garage and my Guy Cotten oil skins. Once in the correct attire it wasn’t actually that bad and the driving rain at least kept the piglets inside long enough for me to put food in their trough without them tripping me up.

Well I was out, in  my kit and as the rest of the household were still in their beds I headed over to Torran Schoolhouse with the Harris Turbine to re fit it to it’s base and fit a ball valve on the pennstock pipe. There is a gate valve in the line but it’s about 20m higher up the line for reasons to do with logistics at the time we laid the pipe.

110709 015 110709 016

As you can see there is some serious pressure in that line, even with the turbine running the gauge is reading off the scale which stops at 10 bar, 147 psi !!! Using an OS map I’d read the height of the loch that supplies this as around 90m higher than the turbine but it must be much higher. If that gauge is correct and I assume it is because that’s what the last one was reading and I thought that was faulty, then with a static head of 15 bar the loch must be at least 45m higher than I thought. 1 bar of water = about 9m of altitude or depth if your a diver 🙂

The job was quite straight forward apart from the frigging pine needles that seemed to get everywhere, it’s been an exceptional year for pine needles, probably the long dry spell followed by a few gales but I’ve never known anything like it. All the gutters on my workshop and barn were choked as were the down pipes. The alternator was full of them despite being enclosed, when making the couplings up they kept getting inside the O rings and causing leaks and trying to pour fuel into the quads without allowing in any pine needles is a nightmare. Of course the rain did not help as they just stuck everywhere but eventually I got things sorted and headed home for breakfast via my own hydro intake.

110709 005

Which as you can see had a little more flow than two days ago 🙂

080710 036

I really must get the power cable laid as that’s an awful lot of free kilowatts running away there 🙂

After the big fry up I took advantage of the huge flow to flush out the original 63mm pipe that’s been feeding my Navitron turbine for a couple of years now.

 190610 041

I cut the pipe a few weeks ago when I installed the new header tank and was a little shocked at the amount of silt that had built up in it.

 

110709 003 110709 002

So I clambered down to the ‘secret cove’ where my turbine resides and opened up the ball valve on the end fully to flush it out.

 

110709 010 110709 013

Leaving it flowing all day and giving the pipe a good bashing with a hammer to loosen the cr4p.

The first ‘shrooms

It may have been a ‘good’ year for pine needles but the same dry weather has kept the mushrooms firmly locked in the ground, that is until today when I found the first chanterelles of the season.

110709 008

Hiding in the birch woods above Torran I found these by the hydro gate valve and they were not there when I shut it off yesterday, not many but they will go lovely with the pigeon that my boy shot 🙂

Just like the forecast said it cleared up in the evening so I took my boy and a couple of his pals out fishing,

110709 017

the wind may have fallen away but it left a good swell that made the boat ride fun and lifting the creels ‘interesting’ 🙂 We only came away with one brown crab for our labours but a good time was had by all and the scenery was spectacular.

110709 020

That’s the Storr on Skye behind Glas Eilean south of Fladda where we had an empty lobster pot 😦

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

